top of page

In America

I had a different blog in mind for this week, but it seems that I can’t follow through. It doesn’t feel appropriate to talk about essential oils when I am continued to be reminded of recent events. The deepest part of my insides quiver with grief, and horror. I don’t know how to talk about this, and truly, it is hard for me to talk about subjects so serious, especially in writing. So please be kind with my vulnerability at this time, and if you talk to me, I promise to be kind with yours.

I don’t know what to say, but I certainly know that I would not want to be mistaken as complacent, or apathetic, because surely an attitude of that nature doesn’t change the reality. I keep seeing on Facebook how people feel that their status of disgust won’t change anything, but I think it will. Look at what were doing— a conversation has started. Did you read that over the gunshots? A CONVERSATION HAS STARTED, or actually, been continued with a great force. I am so saddened by this slaughter, but I am happy that so many people of MY generation, yes, the “awful” MILLENNIALS are standing in SOLIDARITY on social media, next to blacks, next to muslims, and next to gays. I’m proud that were talking about the hard things like rape, and racism, and inequality.

I always identified as liberal, and found myself with a hodge podge of friends from many walks of life, but still my eyes are being opened. I never thought about what it might mean to be an American on the 4th of July and not actually be free because of the systematic oppression that still exists, until Alaysia posted a picture on Facebook of a baby picking cotton. So, I hope these critical conversations continue, because literally, lives depend on it.

The other day I read a quote saying that “being apolitical is a privilege,” and I certainly see why. People who are apolitical are lucky to not be confronted with disparity and injustice everyday. Empathy is a hard thing to muster, because I am unknowing of the everyday plight it is to exist as a black, a homosexual, and a Muslim in America. With that being said I must ask these questions:

What do I need to know?

How do I reconcile?

How do I understand?

How do I apologize?

How can I hold your hand?

How can I lift your heart?


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page