top of page

Istanbul


I was only in the city of Istanbul for about five hours. Liz and I spent roughly eleven hours in Ataturk Airport on our 17 hour layover in Turkey.

We thought it would be safest to stick around the airport for the majority of our time.

This past week, three ISIS members blew themselves up inside Ataturk Airport. The last article I read stated 50 people were dead.

I looked through some pictures in the news and it gave me shivers. I was standing next to that storefront. I walked through that door at arrivals. I sat on that bench to tie my shoes in departures after going through customs. All three places the bombs went off I distinctly remember being, just three weeks ago.

Many people have asked me what my favorite place was. I know I did give a few different answers depending on what day it was, and how I felt, but there were several times I said that Turkey was my favorite and I can’t wait to go back.

This still holds true. The five hours Liz and I spent in the city were magic. An empty view of the majestic Hagia Sofia in the evening? Standing in the courtyard of the Blue Mosque the first night of Ramadan? A meal from a earthen pot? A new friend to take us places we otherwise wouldn’t know to or feel comfortable going?

This was my experience of Istanbul, and I still can’t wait to go back.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page